Select Page

Jim Furyk missed the World Golf Hall of Fame cut.

But at the age of 52, there should be more opportunities.

The Hall of Fame announced on Wednesday that three-time major champion Padraig Harrington and the late Tom Weiskopf and Johnny Farrell were elected to the Hall of Fame in the player category. The LPGA inductees are Sandra Palmer, the late Beverly Hanson and the seven remaining LPGA founders who were not yet enshrined – Alice Bauer, Bettye Danoff, Helen Dettweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Sally Sessions and Shirley Spork.

Furyk, the 2003 U.S. Open champion, won 17 PGA Tour titles, the 2010 FedEx Cup and was on nine Ryder Cup teams. Although vote totals were not announced, he fell short of the 15 of 20 required (75 percent) from the selection committee made up of existing Hall members, leaders of golf’s governing bodies and media.

“I think I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed,” Furyk told the Times-Union. “You go through the process and get your hopes up a little and it didn’t happen. But I respect the process and am hopeful that I’ll have another opportunity.”

Furyk will have another chance in 2025.

“I’m happy for Paddy, his wife Caroline and their family,” Furyk said. “He’s a friend and a wonderful human being. I wish it might have been different for me but I can honestly say he’s very well-deserving.”

The Induction Ceremony will be June 10, 2024 at the Pinehurst Resort, the Monday of U.S. Open week.

“This is very exciting, obviously a huge honor,” said Harrington in a statement. “It’s somewhat humbling.  At this stage of my life, it gives me some validation to what I’ve done in golf. This is a deep-down satisfaction, and I’m very proud to be included with the players before me.”

How Collin Morikawa fixed his two-way miss to shoot 65 at the Players Championship: ‘My swing hasn’t looked this good probably since 2019’

Hayden Buckley aces the island green 17th at TPC Sawgrass, loses his mind Thursday at 2023 Players Championship

Tyson Alexander hoping for a slight home-field advantage at TPC Sawgrass in 2023 Players Championship